So Hee isolated? Nah, just quiet and shy only…

It’s difficult to guess her actual age when Wonder Girls idol star So Hee puts on makeup. So Hee was only a normal high school student the year before but has now become an overnight star thanks to the “Tell Me” mania last year. She has to in a short period of time learn to deal and adapt to sweeping changes that are not normally associated with a normal teenagers life. This is alas but the fate that awaits the members of an idol pop group. But we also learnt from So Hee that like many girls of her age, she has her own dreams and ambitions which are shown in her debut movie, “I Like It Hot”.

We met So Hee for an interview at a coffee house in Samcheongdong as she said smilingly, “You can only see the So Hee of Wonder Girls in Wonder Girls. But you can see the real So Hee in the movie, so I am really very happy.”

“I Like It Hot” is a movie about three women, Lee Mi Sook in her 40s, Kim Min Hee in her 20s and Ahn So Hee in her 10s. In the movie, So Hee plays the only daughter of Lee Mi Sook called Kang Ae. Although she shouts to her aunt played by Kim Min Hee, “Imu (Aunt) will never understand my problem.” But in actual fact, she is experiencing her puberty period as she worries about Kim Bum who is overly careful with her (not crossing boundaries of itimacy) and at the same time worrying about whether she likes girls or boys.

So Hee has grown a lot over the past year by experiencing lots of things for the first time. For example, this interview about her movie is her first just like when she debuted on stage last time. She takes a while to warm up to strangers and doesn’t talk much. This is probably one reason why rumours of her being ostracized by other Wonder Girls member circulated for a period of time.

“It’s really difficult when recording for programs, I get really flustered when faced with the cameras. So when I look flustered, I would have an unhappy expression on my face and don’t feel like talking.” This is probably why rumours like this appear but they are just plain rumours and not the real truth. The unfortunate fate that befalls an idol who has to face antis at such a young age.

Although rumours like this arise during the interview, So Hee would appear very happy once we talked about her movie and you can see the glitter in her eyes. “I was often singled out for not saying my lines the way it should be delivered. It’s probably due to the fact that I had wanted to get it over and done with. I am still lacking in many areas but I will do my best to improve on it in future. I really admire my sunbaenims like Kim Do Yeon, Bae Doo Na, Park Hae Il as their charismatic acting always gets the attention of viewers.”

“Although I have learnt many new things during acting but there’s still a lot to be learnt. I was pretty worried when acting this role out, but it gradually got easier for me since the problems faced by the movie character is akin to mine in reality.” This was an interview with movie actress, So Hee and not the So Hee from Wonder Girls about her future ambitions.

6 thoughts on “So Hee isolated? Nah, just quiet and shy only…

  1. To be honest, I was one of those people who never really warmed up to So Hee. She always looked so…..indifferent when I saw her. But thanks to articles like these, I understand now that she’s just really only a young girl on a big stage full of nerves.

    Sometimes when you’re not doing it you forget how nerve-wracking it can get in her shoes. Anyhow, I wish her the best of course and look forward to her opening up even more in the future. 🙂

  2. sohee’s so pretty and she’s done quite a lot at such a young age.
    even though she still needs improvement talent-wise, her list of achievements is pretty impressive.

    i am so jealous. so so so jealous.

Leave a Reply

